Abelina Suarez Professorship Awarded

A bequest by the estate of Abelina Suarez has been used to establish Fairmont State University’s first named professorship, which will carry her name and that of the discipline of the honoree. This year marks the fourth award of the professorship.  During the Faculty Recognition event on May 2, Dr. Erica Harvey, Professor of Chemistry in the College of Science and Technology, was awarded the 2018 Abelina Suarez Professorship.  As an Abelina Suarez Professor over the next five years, Harvey will convene a creative sustainability council on campus. Students, including rising freshmen, will be invited to propose to the Council sustainability initiatives for the campus and/or local community that integrate creativity, evidence-based science, strong design principles and fun. The seed money for chosen initiatives will be supplied through the professorship funding.  Click here to read the full article from FSUNOW.